Cider Results

12 02 2013

Sooo….  It’s been about a week since the cider project came to a close and everything was sweetened up and bottled, so I thought I’d share with you how everything turned out.  While I wouldn’t call the brew complex in flavor it is certainly highly alcoholic!  Miss Nightly tried some and did a good imitation of the “bitter beer face” from those commercials that used to play years ago (what beer were they for? Miller? Bud?) and waved her arms around trying to swat the alcohol flies away I suppose.  Nightly is a notorious light weight though, so I’ll forgive her that and not take it to heart.  (On a side note, I am beginning to wonder if I take my drinks a little on the strong side.  Nightly gives me this reaction a lot when I am pouring the drinks and most of the time I can barely taste the sin contained in the glass.  I think we are both a little skewed and that probably means I am not the best one to rate how much this actually tastes like alcohol.)

In the bottles the brew is a nice deep gold, but when a few fingers are poured into a glass it becomes a nice mellow-yellow gold-y color.  GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA

(And yes. If any of you are comparing the levels of liquid in the bottle to the pictures I posted in the first Cider entry, I did drink all that by myself.  What can I say?  I’m happy with the results of my little experiment.)

It is quite sweet and has a nice smooth apple taste rather than a crisp one.  There is no carbonation to speak of.  The consistency is more like a liquor, somewhat thick and syrupy – but not to the point of clinging to the glass – than a typical cider.  It is in no way cloying, and what I’m sure miss Nightly took for that horrific burn that caused the bitter beer face, I find to be a pleasant warmth that fills my mouth and fades to faint, lingering apple.

I am very happy with this batch, and will document the next one more carefully for you.  After I’ve done a few I’m sure I’ll be more able to offer tips and options to you with some reliability, but for now let me just say that if you’ve ever had the urge, notion, thought, dream, or hankering to brew some tasty al-ku-ma-hall of your own do it!  This was so simple, so cheap, and took so little effort that it would be a shame not to give it a try if the desire has struck you.  And there are countless walk-throughs out there on the internet to help you along the way.

As soon as I get off my butt and start the next batch you’ll get more Cider-y Goodness!

Actions

Information

One response

14 02 2013
nightlymusings

LOL “swat the alcohol flies away “. thanks… I love you too

Leave a Reply

